Download Press Release
28 JUNE 2017

Kirksey Hosts Design + Art Exhibit Featuring 15 Houston Artists

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

 

The exhibit was part of Kirksey's Design Month, a firm-wide initiative to inspire, promote and reinforce design awareness

HOUSTON, TEXAS — Kirksey Architecture hosted a Design + Art exhibit on Friday, June 23, featuring artwork by 15 Houston-area community artists as part of Kirksey’s Design Month, a firm-wide initiative to inspire, promote and reinforce design awareness. The artists, some with training in architecture and featured at Silver Street Studios, exhibited their artwork throughout Kirksey’s office for one week and were on hand to discuss their pieces at a happy hour on Friday.

Everything from mixed media, video art, paintings and sculptures were on display at the firm. June 1st kicked off Design Month at Kirksey Architecture, with this year’s theme of “What’s Your Story?” — hitting on the concept that good design, not just architectural design, should tell a story and evoke feeling.

“Art and architecture are intertwined — the two will always be related to one another,” said Gary Machicek, Kirksey’s design principal. “By celebrating the art around us, we continue to find inspiration for our own designs.”

Some of the artists even created custom pieces for Kirksey’s space. Patrick Renner’s creation, titled Funnel Tunnel Pelt, was created from the drop cloth used beneath wood scraps during the original Funnel Tunnel painting party. The Funnel Tunnel was a public art piece commissioned by the Art League Houston for the boulevard on Montrose. A truly sustainable art piece, Renner used reclaimed elements from the built environment and turned it into art — not unlike Kirksey’s commitment to sustainable architecture, as well. The full-size Funnel Tunnel is now on display in New Orleans.

 “This artwork exhibit was such a success, we’re exploring different ways to make it a more frequent event,” said Michelle Old, a member of Kirksey’s design team. “Our designers were inspired by what they saw, and keeping the office fresh with new ideas is just one way that Kirksey’s Design Month is continuing to promote design awareness among all of us.”

Through a series of different design events and initiatives, Kirksey is proud to feature a full month of design — from hosting technology happy hours where employees can try virtual reality (VR) headsets, holding Design Talk luncheons on topics of sustainable design, to exhibiting community art throughout the office.

For more photos of the event, please see Kirksey’s Facebook page.

FEATURED ARTISTS:
• Carlos Ocando, www.carlosocando.com
• Carolina Otero, www.carolinaotero.com
• Erick Calderon, www.lightartinteractive.com
• Gerardo Rosales, www.gerardorosales.com
• Garciela Socorro, www.gracielasocorro.com
• Jeff Jennings, www.jeffreyjennings.com
• Laura Feld, www.laurafeld.com
• Lee Alice H. Pablo, www.leealicehpablo.com
• Lorena Morales, www.lorenamorales.com
• Luisa Duarte, www.luisa-duarte.com
• Patrick Renner, www.patrickrennerart.com
• Carlos Pelayo Martinez, www.deparia.blogspot.com
• Tara Conley, www.taraconleyart.com
• Verny Sanchez, www.vernysanchez.com
• Surpik Angelini, surpik@mac.com

About Kirksey

Kirksey is a Houston-based, sustainable architecture and interior design firm with more than 29 million sf of LEED® projects in their portfolio. Team-based in structure, Kirksey serves Commercial, Collegiate, Community, pK-12, Government, Healthcare, Hospitality, Religious, Science & Technology, and Multi-Family Residential markets. For more information, visit www.kirksey.com.